Texas Racing Commission
TxRC Header
top navigation
page-border-left Side Navigation
Texas Racing Commission

Forms


Licensing by Mail

Most applicants must visit a Commission licensing office at a pari-mutuel racetrack to apply for a license. As a convenience, the Commission offers licensing by mail for owners, trainers, owner-trainers, and multiple owners.

To apply by mail, download the appropriate application form. You must have Adobe Acrobat to view the forms.

  Get Acrobat Reader  

Fingerprint Information

Applicants ages 17 to 69 years must submit fingerprint cards.

Fingerprint fees are subject to change based on the fees established by the Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

RENEWAL APPLICANTS
- By law, every three years the Commission must obtain an updated background check on each occupational licensee by submitting their fingerprints.  The Commission has two options available for an applicant to meet this requirement. If you are due to submit your fingerprints for renewal, you must call a Commission licensing office to see which option applies to you.

  • Option 1: Your original fingerprints are NOT on file with the Department of Public Safety. This occurs when your original fingerprints were rejected for any number of reasons. You may go to a Commission Licensing office or to your local law enforcement office to be fingerprinted on a FBI card. If submitting a completed FBI fingerprint card you must first register the completed card before sending it to the Commission. Follow these instructions to register your fingerprint card.

    Submit your application for renewal, your completed FBI fingerprint card after you have registered it, the applicable license fee and the 'Option 1 - Not Eligible for Fingerprint Resubmit Fee" to the Commission.

  • Option 2: Your original fingerprints are on file with the Department of Public Safety. If your original fingerprints are on file with the Department of Public Safety, the Commission can 'resubmit' them. It is very important to call a Commission licensing office to verify that you qualify for this option. Failure to do so may delay the processing of your application.

    If you qualify for this option, submit your application for renewal, your applicable license fee and the Option 2-Eligible for Fingerprint Resubmit Fee to the Commission.

Please call the Austin Licensing office at 512-833-6699 if you have any questions.

What to Send

Complete all applicable forms and mail them to the Commission. The Commission will send applicants who apply for a license by mail or online an acknowledgment letter stating that the license has been processed. A badge is not necessary unless the licensee works at the track or wants to go to the backside of a Texas racetrack. To obtain a badge, the licensee must go to any Commission licensing office at a racetrack with the acknowledgment letter and proof of identity.

NOTE: If an owner is unable to complete their application for an owner's license because of absence or illness, his/her trainer may apply for an emergency license no later than post time of the first race on the day their race animal is entered. 

Applicant What to Send

Owner
An individual who is sole or part owner of record or is the lessor or lessee of a properly registered race animal which the person intends to race in Texas.



Completed license application form.
If applicant is under 18 years of age, the parent or legal guardian must also sign the application.

Completed fingerprint cards on cards provided by the Racing Commission. Contact the agency to request the cards.

Payment - A check or money order made payable to the TxRC or Visa/MasterCard authorization for the appropriate license fee (§311.5(c)) and the applicable fingerprint fee. See Option 1 and Option 2 above.

Trainer
An individual 18 years of age or older who has met the requirements to be a licensed Trainer and who is training one or more horses/greyhound for the purpose of racing in Texas.


Completed license application form.

Completed fingerprint cards on cards provided by the Racing Commission.
Contact
the agency to request the cards.

Payment - A check or money order made payable to the TxRC or Visa/MasterCard authorization for the appropriate license fee (§311.5(c)) and the applicable fingerprint fee. See Option 1 and Option 2 above.

Proof of your current trainer's license in another racing jurisdiction.

Owner/Trainer
An individual 18 years of age or older who has qualified as a Trainer and who trains animals for which the person is:
(1) the owner/lessee/lessor of record; or
(2) has an ownership interest in any properly registered race animal intended for racing in Texas.

Completed license application form.

Completed fingerprint cards on cards provided by the Racing Commission.
Contact
the agency to request the cards.

Payment - A check or money order made payable to the TxRC or Visa/MasterCard authorization for the appropriate license fee (§311.5(c)) and the applicable fingerprint fee. See Option 1 and Option 2 above.

Proof of your current trainer's license in another racing jurisdiction.

Multiple Owner/Stable Registration
If the owner on the race animal's registration papers is an entity other than an individual, such as a partnership, estate, or stable, all individuals who own 5% or more of the race animal must be individually licensed. The animal will not be permitted to race until all those individuals are licensed. If the race animal is owned jointly by a husband and wife, a Multiple Owner/Stable Registration is not required unless the husband and wife do not have the same last name.


Completed multiple owner registration form.

Payment - A check or money order made payable to the TxRC or Visa/MasterCard authorization for the fee (§311.5(c)).

See above instructions for what each Owner applicant must submit with their license application.

  • *Please call the Austin Licensing office at 512-833-6699 if you have questions.

  • Page updated: 12/28/16

    page-border-right
    footer