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FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE    512-833-6699 
November 14, 2008 
 
REVISIONS TO FINGERPRINT PROCESS FOR LICENSEES 
 
Austin:  Charla Ann King, Executive Director of the Texas Racing Commission, 
announced that significant revisions to the fingerprint process for licensees will become 
effective December 1, 2008, with the implementation of a new electronic fingerprint 
system in.   Beginning on that date, each occupational license applicant who submits 
fingerprint cards for a background check will be required to pay a $12 fingerprint 
processing fee in addition to the occupational licensing fee.   
 
Based on revisions to the Commission’s fingerprint rule, each applicant, including those 
10 years of age or older, will now be required to submit fingerprint cards.  In addition, 
the Commission will update a licensee’s background information more often, as license 
holders will be fingerprinted every three years, instead of every five years. 
 
Using the new electronic fingerprinting system will reduce the turnaround time for 
retrieving criminal history background information from the Department of Public Safety 
(DPS)  and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI).  The new system allows the 
Commission to more quickly identify those who are not eligible for licensure due to a 
disqualifying criminal violation.  It will also significantly reduce the overall fingerprint 
rejection rate.       
 
These changes to the fingerprint process follow an in-depth review by the Racing 
Commission and DPS.  The first electronic fingerprint system has been in use since 
early September at Lone Star Park.  Following this successful pilot program, permanent 
electronic machines will soon be installed at Retama Park and Sam Houston, with 
portable machines being utilized at Gillespie County Fair & Festivals, Gulf Greyhound 
Park, Manor Downs, and Valley Race Park. 
 
The new electronic system will also speed up processing of “inked” fingerprint cards. 
Applicants not able to appear in person at a Texas Racing Commission Licensing office 
may continue to obtain “inked” prints from a local law enforcement agency.  These 
prints will also be entered electronically to DPS, again decreasing the turn-around time 
for obtaining background information from both the DPS and the FBI.   
 
Applicants for occupational licenses may obtain licensing information from any 
Licensing office at any Texas racetrack or call the Austin office at 512-833-6699.  
Applicants may also be eligible to submit an on-line application.  Go to the TxRC 
website at www.txrc.state.tx.us  for more information.  


